GM-free

GM-free

OGT2

The GM-free status must be inspected at all stages of the value chain. Therefore, we inspect agricultural enterprises, feed companies, soya traders and all food processors.
To facilitate the use of feed in accordance with the guidelines, a feed database has been established which lists all feed suitable for the production of GM-free food. This database is freely accessible on the Internet via a product search at InfoXgen/Feed search.

Technical background:

Genetic engineering plays an important role in many areas of agriculture and food production. In the case of crops, it is mainly soya, maize, rape and cotton which are subject to large-scale genetic modifications. The genetic modifications mainly serve to induce herbicide resistance to the active substance glyphosate, which is, in particular, used in a plant protection product marketed under the name “Roundup”. The other important genetic modification is the trait of insect resistance conferred by Bt toxins. The gene used for that purpose comes from the soil bacterium Bacillus thuringiensis (Bt), which naturally produces this active substance.

In the area of additives and processing aids, many substances are produced with the help of genetically modified microorganisms. In GM-free production, the microorganism last used in the production of additives may not constitute a GMO. This is guaranteed by the producer, who signs a declaration of warranty. Here is the corresponding link: Declaration_of_compliance_GMO_free_production_Austria

Additives and processing aids for feed may not constitute GMOs and may also not be produced from GMOs. In GM-free feed production, production by means of GMOs is not given any consideration.

In organic farming, the use of GMOs is generally prohibited according to Article 9 of Regulation (EC) No 834/2007, as amended.

Legal background:

  • Regulation (EC) No 1829/2003 on genetically modified food and feed
  • Regulation (EC) No 1830/2003 concerning the traceability and labeling of genetically modified organisms and the traceability of food and feed products produced from genetically modified organisms and amending Directive 2001/18/EC

Links:
ARGE Gentechnikfrei (logo assignment)
Transgen (background information on genetic engineering)

New Customer Checklist:
>>Click here<<

agroVet-GM-free-logo:
colored and monochrome

 

For companies certified by agroVet. The companies are inspected before usage of the trademark is approved.

On the product companies may use the trademark only on products that comply with the relevant guidelines for the definition of “GMO-Free production” of food and their labeling as amended. The trademark may only be used upon approval from the certification body.

Advertising material must contain information about the certified assortment. Approval must be granted by the certification body.

 Downloads:
>>Terms of use for trademarks<<

Download agroVet-GM-free-logo:
>>Coloured<<
>>B/W<<

Gentechnikfrei

 OGT2OGT                                   
Die Kontrolle der Gentechnikfreiheit muss auf allen Stufen der Wertschöpfungskette erfolgen. Daher werden landwirtschaftliche Betriebe, Futtermittelfirmen, Sojahändler und alle Verarbeiter von Lebensmitteln kontrolliert. 
Um den richtlinienkonformen Einsatz von Futtermitteln zu erleichtern, wurde eine Futtermitteldatenbank erstellt, in der alle Futtermittel gelistet sind, die zur Herstellung von gentechnikfreien Lebensmitteln geeignet sind. Diese Datenbank ist über eine Produktsuche im Internet frei zugänglich, unter http://www.infoxgen.com/produktsuche-gentechnikfrei.html

Fachlicher Hintergrund:


Die Gentechnik spielt in vielen Bereichen der Landwirtschaft und Lebensmittelherstellung eine große Rolle. Bei den Kulturpflanzen sind es in erster Linie Soja, Mais, Raps und Baumwolle, bei denen gentechnische Veränderungen in großem Maßstab durchgeführt werden. Die gentechnischen Veränderungen sind in erster Linie eine Herbizidresistenz gegen den Wirkstoff Glyphosat, das vor allem im Pflanzenschutzmittel Round up zur Anwendung kommt. Die zweite wichtige gentechnisch veränderte Eigenschaft ist eine Insektenresistenz durch Bt-Toxine. Das dafür verwendete Gen stammt aus dem Bodenbakterium Bacillus thuringiensis(Bt), das diesen Wirkstoff natürlicherweise produziert.

Im Bereich der Zusatzstoffe und Verarbeitungshilfsstoffe werden viele Stoffe mit Hilfe von gentechnisch veränderten Mikroorganismen hergestellt. In der gentechnikfreien Produktion darf bei der Herstellung von Zusatzstoffen der letzte eingesetzte Mikroorganismus kein GVO sein. Dafür haftet der Hersteller durch seine Unterschrift auf einer Zusicherungserklärung. Hier der Link dazu: Zusicherungserklaerung_gentechnikfrei_LM_Codex_AT

Zusatzstoffe und Verarbeitungshilfsstoffe für Futtermittel dürfen keine GVO sein und auch nicht aus GVO hergestellt werden, die Herstellung durch GVO wird in der gentechnikfreien Futtermittelproduktion nicht in Betracht gezogen.

Im Bio-Landbau gilt grundsätzlich das Verbot der Verwendung von GVO nach Artikel 9 der VO (EG) 834/2007 idgF.


Rechtlicher Hintergrund:

  • Verordnung (EG) 1829/2003 über genetisch veränderte Lebensmittel und Futtermittel
  • Verordnung (EG) 1830/2003 über die Rückverfolgbarkeit und Kennzeichnung von genetisch veränderten Organismen und über die Rückverfolgbarkeit von aus genetisch veränderten Organismen hergestelltenLebensmitteln und Futtermitteln sowie zur Änderung der Richtlinie 2001/18/EG       


Links:
ARGE Gentechnikfrei (Logovergabe)
Transgen (Hintergrundinformation zu Gentechnik)
>>Zertifizierungsprogramm Gentechnikfrei-Landwirtschaft<<
>>Zertifizierungsprogramm Gentechnikfrei-Verarbeitung<<


Neukundeneinstieg:
>>Hier gelangen Sie zu der Checkliste Neukunden<<